Serving Young’s fine ales since 1869, the pub dates back to 1780 and was originally called the Waterman’s Arms.
It was rebuilt in 1838, and changed its name to The White Cross in 1840. The landlord at the time was Samuel Cross which may explain the name change. The pub is built on the site of the observant Franciscan Friary which was dissolved by Henry VIII in 1534, but there may be some remains of the friary incorporated within our extensive cellars.
Also unique to the White Cross is our cosy fireplace which is situated underneath a window and one of only a tiny number of which are still used in this country.